News:

• April 27, 2024, 09:58:41 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Full Tank ?  (Read 599 times)

Offline Larry Wong

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Full Tank ?
« on: July 22, 2008, 07:22:09 PM »
How can I tell if the tank is full when the volt says 14.8 - 16.2 ? Monday I must have forgotten if I had change battery after flight, when I try to fly again the arming sound on ESC and timer, but when I try to start all I got was a shutter on the prop then nothing.  I guess I'm still new to E - flight, as Sunday I had 6 flight and all were perfit time of flight about 5.3 min. and had 25% left in tank, according to FMA 10 cell pro. charger.... HB~>
Larry

Believing is the Beginning to greatness <><

Offline jfv

• 24 supporter
  • Captain
Re: Full Tank ?
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2008, 08:02:33 PM »
Get one of these.  Very handy for checking the status and condition of the cells in your battery pack.  http://www.hobby-lobby.com/cellmeter.htm
Jim Vigani

Alan Hahn

« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2008, 08:40:10 PM »
I am not sure what you are using now, but a fresh 4s lipo battery should have something around 16.4V or higher (16.8 when it comes off the charger)---or 4.1 to 4.2V per cell. It is basically a depleted pack at 3.7V per cell or 14.8V for a 4s.

All that being said, I have been there and done that. n1 Now when I remove a pack from the plane, I make sure I put it away from the fresh packs.

Offline Larry Wong

• Admiral
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2008, 08:46:49 PM »
Alan Your right that's what reading I get out of the charger, just have to keep them stright, charge and discharged, I charge 2 batteries at the same time, and sometimes I forget which is which, Hummmm   Z@@ZZZ Z@@ZZZ
Larry

Believing is the Beginning to greatness <><

Offline walterbro

• walter brownell
  • Lieutenant
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2008, 07:18:40 AM »
Larry
There is a simple way to "mark" your charged batteries. It was posted on this forum