News:

• April 30, 2024, 04:28:31 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Even 45 year old stunters can convert and fly well as electrics  (Read 1698 times)

Offline RickS

• AMA Member
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Ensign
Even 45 year old stunters can convert and fly well as electrics
« on: September 24, 2009, 11:48:53 PM »
Hi everyone,

I thought I  would share my latest project with fellow electric stunt flyers.  The plane is an original design built in 1964. It was rather large for its day with a 62 inch span and 670 sq inches of wing.  Power at that time was the perennial Fox 35 and as flown in 1964 it weighed 47 oz.  (50 oz after 45 years of wall hanging!!!)  It won at several meets in the Mid-west that year and was replaced by some semi-scale ships for the following year.  It has been hanging on the wall for the past 45 years.

I have been enjoying electric stunt for the past 5 years and so far have built/flown 8 different models over that period and have competed successfully with several of them..  Recent conversations with the Adamisins included the " wonder what some of our "older" planes would fly like if electrified".   Bingo.. a perfect test plane was on the wall.  After about 5 hours of work, the original motor/tank/firewalls  were  easily removed and replaced with "space" for electric components. I installed my favorite motor size an AXI 2826/12 which I have 4 years of experience with and have great phrase for and have recommended to many,  running a 12/6 APCE with a 4 cell 3700 battery pack controlled by PX 45 and Hubin timer, another item I also highly recommend.  Electric power systems have really developed over the past several years and they are truly "plug and play" at the current time.