News:

• May 21, 2024, 12:07:19 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Electric power for Hangar 9 PT-19 ARF  (Read 1866 times)

Offline John Fitzgerald

• No longer an AMA Member
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Electric power for Hangar 9 PT-19 ARF
« on: November 14, 2011, 08:13:06 PM »
What would be the recommended purchases to go electric on the PT-19 ARF? I think this might be a good model to try electric on. I have many years experience off and on with glo engines and building planes, but no experience with electric powered planes. I would want the power equivalent of a good OS .35 FP.  Due to the lack of noise it would not be an attention grabber like a glo engine; I might be able to get in a few schoolyard or soccer field flights.
From what I have read, this ARF has a weak nose like most ARF profiles.  Hopefully, electric power would be easier on the motor mounts than glo.

Offline William DeMauro

• 21 supporter
  • Captain
Re: Electric power for Hangar 9 PT-19 ARF
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2011, 08:51:42 PM »
Go through the list your setup for similar size planes. There is a local guy flying one with a budget system on his that works great.
I believe he is using this motor Exceed RC Rocket 3020-860kv Brushless Motor for RC Plane  Available here
http://www.hobbypartz.com/86mb27-rocket-3020-860kv.html. with these batteries GENS ACE 3300mah 4S1P 14.8V 25C Lipo battery pack. available here
http://www.hobbypartz.com/98p-25c-3300-4s1p.html With a PHX 35 and a Hubin FM7 timer. There are many other setups that will work. Allot depends on your budget. I'm sure others will recommend some good turnkey systems too. By the way his plane did come out tail heavy.(yours may not but it is something to watch for)
AMA 98010

Offline John Fitzgerald

• Commander
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2011, 09:36:45 PM »
Tail heavy even with a battery pack?