Electric Stunt > Gettin all AMP'ed up!

Electric Airframes

(1/4) > >>

Ron King:
Frank Carlisle wrote this in the motor thread:

"BUT...................I have been thinking about the plane. So far we've all been converting I.C. models to electric and to me it seems we should rethink the plane.
I'm thinking that since we don't have to tame or hold the engine back we should build a model with less drag. It doesn't have to be vibration proofed as much and the structure doesn't need to be so beefy.
Getting an electric motor to behave like an I.C. engine in an airframe that's had 50 plus years of refinement to perform with an engine rather than a motor is in my opinion what the drawback is to electric at this time."

I would move his post if I knew how, but I'm new to this job so please bear with me.

There are several factors that influence airframe design for CLPA - powerplant being one. Another factor to consider is the environment: we fly our CLPA models within a confined hemisphere. In some aspects our models act like real airplanes; in others they act different. Real airplane designers don't worry about a constant centrifugal force, nor do they worry about a constant yaw - or that tether attached to the wingtip.

Mike Palko's Silencer was the first airframe I saw that was designed for electric propulsion. Bob Hunt and I took existing airframes and converted them for our first attempts.

My latest effort was designed for electrics and it has very little hardwood. There are no plywood doublers, formers, or maple motor mounts in the fuselage. The wing is built normally because of the hemispherical conditions and every effort was made to select the lightest wood possible for each and every part of the plane. But if you look at my model, it is really just a bigger Nobler. Those classic design "numbers" have been proved over time.