News:

• April 27, 2024, 07:05:32 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Battery Charger - which one should I get?  (Read 1631 times)

Offline Bruce Hoffmann

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
Battery Charger - which one should I get?
« on: June 15, 2011, 09:30:20 PM »
I've been flying EL Aerobatics now for over 18 months and can't see a reason to 'go back' to an IC powered model..  When I started with EL alot of my gear came from 'HobbyKing' - I bought a 4 port 'Quattro' charger which balances and charges different chemistry batteries at the same time. (the same unit appears to be sold by 'Tower' hobbies at a higher price)

I have never been completely happy with the charger - not sure that it has been 'balancing' the batteries properly, but good enough I thought at the time...  However about 2 weeks ago one of the 'ports' decided to fail - so now it will only charge 3 batteries at once and one of these ports is giving me very 'suspect' readings regarding the 'balance' side of things.

So now I'm looking at purchasing another charger and wondering what to get.  I now have about 12 batteries which when all charged will well and truly see me through a days worth of flying, so perhaps I don't need a 4 port charger any longer?  (although it was handy)

So if anyone has any thoughts on what is out there in battery charger land that is reliable I'd appreciate any comments - if you know where they are available and at what price that would be helpful also.

Thanks,

Bruce H
Bruce

Offline WhittleN

• Commander
Re: Battery Charger - which one should I get?
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2011, 06:58:31 AM »
Bruce