News:

• May 19, 2024, 02:33:05 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: 4s against 5s  (Read 858 times)

Offline paul winter

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
4s against 5s
« on: October 12, 2012, 11:36:04 AM »
hi
as im new to this sparky lark

answer me a question
im using a 750 kv motor
castle ice lite 50 esc
will hubin timer

and hobby king 5s 3000 batteries that weight 13.79 ozs/391 grams

but a 4s 3000 battery is 10.54ozs /291 grams

can i use 4s or ???????   to save alot weight

paul

Online Crist Rigotti

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
  • Electric - The future of Old Time Stunt
Re: 4s against 5s
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2012, 12:04:31 PM »
IF a 4S 3000mah battery is big enough, then you don't need a 5S 3000mah battery.  You need a smaller 5S battery to deliver the same amount of "power".  A 5S 2400mah battery would equate to a 4S 3000mah battery.
Crist
AMA 482497
Waxahachie, TX
Electric - The Future of Old Time Stunt

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2012, 12:12:47 PM »
You neglected to say how much the rest of the plane weighs.  You need to match the total energy available from the pack to the plane weight -- get it wrong, and you either don't have enough battery, or you don't have enough oomph to finish a flight.

But, let's analyze.

First, let's ignore Kv:

One 3000mAh 3.7V cell will deliver (approximately, and at the very most) (3A) * (3600 seconds) * (3.7V) = 39960 Joules.  Round that to 40kJ.

Four of 'em will deliver four times as much: 160kJ.

Five of 'em will deliver five times as much: 200kJ.

If you need 200kJ to fly your plane, you need 200kJ to fly your plane.  Going to a 4s pack would mean you'd need to increase the battery capacity by 5/4, to 3750mAh.

How heavy is the plane going to be?  A 60 ounce plane would need those 200kJ, so it'd need the extra cell.  A 48 oz plane could get by with the 4s pack.

Now, let's pay attention to Kv: