News:

• April 19, 2024, 12:34:36 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: 4 stroke rpm increase in the air.  (Read 9870 times)

Offline Andrew Tinsley

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
4 stroke rpm increase in the air.
« on: September 10, 2015, 11:58:50 AM »
I am relatively new to 4strokes. I was flying at the weekend with a Saito 56 powered stunt model and also an older model with a Merco 61. The Merco increased revs in the air as one would expect for a 2 stroke. The penny then dropped, the Saito 56 hardly increased revs at all once airborne. I have never been aware of this, when running the Saito 56. Is this normal behaviour for a 4 stroke or do I have a problem? The flights with the Saito were fine with no problems at all except the pilot!

Regards,

Andrew.
BMFA Number 64862

Offline bruce finley

• Lieutenant
Re: 4 stroke rpm increase in the air.
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2015, 12:08:28 PM »
Mine do not increase in revs as the flight goes on.  Nice isn't it? H^^

Offline Andrew Tinsley

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2015, 12:44:51 PM »
Hello Bruce,
I have always thought that the prop was stalled when stationary on the ground, surely you would expect the prop to unload and speed up when airborne as per 2 stroke experience? So what is going on here? Even my diesels speed up when airborne! is it just that my senses are dulled by old age and  can't hear what is going on these days. I refuse to use my hearing aids because the birdsong drives me crazy!

Regards,

Andrew.
BMFA Number 64862

Offline rustler

• Captain
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2015, 01:36:45 PM »
Hi Andrew.

I am totally new to 4-Strokes. Since the Nats, I have been advised

a) use a tach.
b) lean the motor out to max revs.
c) open the needle to reduce revs by 500.
d) fly.