News:


Advertise Here

  • May 23, 2022, 08:21:52 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Icelite 50 and F9 RPM settings  (Read 3694 times)

Online Bruce Shipp

  • 21 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 174
Icelite 50 and F9 RPM settings
« on: August 29, 2013, 02:50:55 PM »
The castle software asks me for 3 RPM settings for the ICELITE 50.  What numbers should be set here?  How do these numbers interact with the rpm settings programmed into the F9 timer?  I am running a e flite 32 with 4 cells and will be looking for 8300-8500 rpm. 

After I set the esc numbers, will the F9 rpm settings be used to adjust the rpm for minor lap speed changes or will I adjust them on the esc.  Thanks,

Bruce

Offline John Cralley

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
  • ******
  • Posts: 1233
Re: Icelite 50 and F9 RPM settings
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2013, 07:25:32 PM »
Bruce,  There are a couple of ways that you can program your ESC for use with the Hubin FM-9 timer. If you use the "Governor High" mode you should use the FM-9 in the "Phoenix New High" mode and the timer will set the RPM. If you use the "Set RPM Mode" for the ESC, then you will set three RPMs (Head speeds) in the ESC and the timer will need to be set to "Phoenix Set RPM" mode and the ESC will use one of the three RPMs that you programmed as the governed RPM. Read the FM-9 directions carefully and all will be well.
John Cralley
Scratch Built - Often Re-kitted!!!
AMA 52183
Central Illinois

Online Bruce Shipp

  • 21 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 174
Re: Icelite 50 and F9 RPM settings
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2013, 03:16:50 PM »
Here is my setup:  e-Flight 32, 4 cells, 12-6.5 EP, Castle IceLite 50 ESC, Hubin F9 timer.

Desired rpm range will be 8300-8500 rpm.

ESCsettings:  governor mode, governor high

F9 settings:  Phoenix new high rpm, rpm set to 8300ish (I do not remember exactly what number the box gave me, but it was the first setting above 8300.

What numbers should I enter into the three Desired Head Speed windows on the ESC programming page?

On Randy's "How about timer settings?" Thread, Peter's settings say to leave these windows empty, and Robert's settings had three RPMS slightly higher than the F9 setting of 9500. 

What is the relationship between the desired head speed settings and the F9 rpm settings?  How does one affect the other?

If I put 8300 in the Desired Head speed and 8500 in the F9, what will the rpm be?

If I put 8500 in the Desired Head Speed and 8300 in the F9 what will the rpm be?

If I leave the Desired Head Speed windows empty, will the F9 rpm setting control the rpm throughout the range of the motor?

Hope this is clear.

Thanks,  Bruce


Offline Bob Hudak

  • 2017
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 442
Re: Icelite 50 and F9 RPM settings
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2013, 07:46:19 PM »
Bruce,
 When running in Hi Gov mode you don't need to put a rpm in the boxes that ask for the 3 rpm settings. As John stated it is only used when you select "set rpm".
350838

Online Bruce Shipp

  • 21 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 174
Re: Icelite 50 and F9 RPM settings
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2013, 08:13:47 PM »
Thank you.

Offline John Cralley

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
  • ******
  • Posts: 1233
Re: Icelite 50 and F9 RPM settings
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2013, 08:51:25 PM »
Bruce, Bob is right.

However, I believe that if you enter numbers in the boxes the software will respond with whether your RPMs are in the proper governor range. So even thought these RPM numbers are not used in Governor High mode, you can get an idea of whether your RPM (that you are setting with the FM-9 timer) is in the correct ballpark for governing the RPM. Try entering a ridiculous number and see if the software tells you that you are out of the proper range.
John Cralley
Scratch Built - Often Re-kitted!!!
AMA 52183
Central Illinois

Online Bruce Shipp

  • 21 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 174
Re: Icelite 50 and F9 RPM settings
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2013, 08:43:18 AM »
Quick update:  I left the DHS windows empty, used a proven set of numbers from here on the set-up thread, and everything worked like a champ. 

Only 7 flights so far and like everyone else who starts this adventure, I am slowly chasing down the proper forward cg, one half once at a time.  I guessed at the lead out position and moved them aft slightly from where they were with the ic engine.  They were very close.  I flew a bit fast, 5.2 to 5.3 and will dial things back to a 5.4-5.5 after I get the cg squared away.

Very happy with my foray into electric.  Easy to set up, easy to program, ran like a champ.  The airplane had better line tension, especially in the top half of the pattern than it ever did with the ic.

Happy happy happy.

thanks for all the help.

Offline Frank Egyed

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • AUS 12457
Re: Icelite 50 and F9 RPM settings
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2018, 12:07:57 AM »
The castle software asks me for 3 RPM settings for the ICELITE 50.  What numbers should be set here?  How do these numbers interact with the rpm settings programmed into the F9 timer?  I am running a e flite 32 with 4 cells and will be looking for 8300-8500 rpm. 

After I set the esc numbers, will the F9 rpm settings be used to adjust the rpm for minor lap speed changes or will I adjust them on the esc.  Thanks,

Bruce

Yes I know this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days - I'm answering this in case a newbie to electric does the same search I did and ends up here.

The Phoenix Ice Lite 3 RPM settings are for "Set RPM" mode.

Setting 1 is for your desired governed RPM, and Setting 3 is for the half-second burst 5 seconds before the end.

So set RPM 1 to what you want (8500 in your case), and set RPM 3 a thousand RPM higher (9500), and tell the FM-9/FM-2 to use RPM 1. So 5 seconds before the timer cuts the power, you will get a half second burst of an extra 1000 RPM (RPM 3) to let you know you have about one lap left. Just like an IC near the end of a tank :)

I have no idea why you'd use RPM 2...

Hope this helps

Cheers,
Frank
You don't stop playing because you grow old, you grow old because you stop playing


Advertise Here
Tags:
 


Advertise Here