News:

• May 09, 2024, 05:21:29 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: venturi shape?  (Read 8802 times)

Offline dave siegler

• 2016 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
  • sport flier
    • Circlemasters Flying club
venturi shape?
« on: October 05, 2012, 04:08:23 AM »
to the guys that make your own venturi's. 

1) Do you taper the bore?

2) Is the shape taper important?

3) If so what tooling do you use?

Just got a lathe, trying to make some venturi's for OS engines.
Dave Siegler
NE9N extra class
AMA 720731
EAA 1231299 UAS Certificate Number FA39HY9ML7  Member of the Milwaukee Circlemasters. A Gold Leader Club for over 25 years!  http://www.circlemasters.com/

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: venturi shape?
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2012, 08:24:04 AM »
1: Yes

2: Hey, I'm a hobbyist machinist, but I'm not an engine expert.  I've seen a lot of good engines that have venturis with perfectly round holes, though.

3: For the first one or two I used a small boring bar and my compound slide to make two or three different angles, then I wrapped sandpaper around a pencil and smoothed things out.  Later, I got fancy and ground a custom venturi-taper-boring tool.  It's just a piece of 1/4" square tool steel with a swoopy curve ground into it on the cutting side, then relieved on the bottom to a half-circle so it'll clear the hole that it's making.
AMA 64232

The problem with electric is that once you get the smoke generator and sound system installed, the plane is too heavy.

Offline Bootlegger

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2012, 09:12:23 AM »

:!   I have many that the venturi is a straight hole in engines from 25 size to 46 size and I can't see any difference in the way that run.
  The expert's might be able to "shead" more light on the subject tho... #^
8th Air Force Veteran
Gil Causey
AMA# 6964

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral