News:

• March 28, 2024, 03:34:51 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Super Tigre 35  (Read 13976 times)

Offline Harold Brewer

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
Super Tigre 35
« on: May 02, 2022, 12:13:13 PM »
 Was going through my engine stash and found a brand new Super Tigre 35.  Documentation shows both the stunt and combat versions.  Looked inside the cylinder and confirmed the piston was a flat top.  Question is do I have a combat or stunt engine?
 Regards,
Brew

Note : Plain bearing engine
« Last Edit: May 03, 2022, 08:02:33 PM by Harold Brewer »

Offline Peter in Fairfax, VA

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Super Tigre 35
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2022, 12:14:11 PM »
Combat.  If baffled, stunt version and gets better fuel mileage.

Offline EddyR

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2022, 06:37:05 PM »
   Also the combat model was made with and wihout ballbearings. Stunt models do not have them
Ed
Locust NC 40 miles from the Huntersville field

Offline Motorman

• Admiral
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2022, 06:40:15 PM »
If it's ball bearing, does it have a 2 on one of the mounting lugs?

Offline Dave_Trible

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2022, 07:23:00 PM »
The one you have there is the 'combat' version, though next to nobody ever used it for combat.  It is plain bearing so most found their way onto a profile carrier where BB's weren't allowed .  The G 21 .35 BB was the engine used mostly for combat and was quite a bit more energetic that the 'C' combat plain bearing.  Neither were ever thought to be much of a stunt engine but could be more manageable with the the stock small venturi like yours.

Dave
AMA 20934
FAA Certificate FA3ATY4T94

Offline Air Ministry .

• Admiral
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2022, 08:11:54 PM »
Egad ;

Ran one in the Phantom for test . THIRSTYEST .

The Gardner ABC P/L he mightve made ? go in .
some are P.D.P. ( I have one still maybe ) .