News:

• March 28, 2024, 04:25:53 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Silicone exhaust deflectors  (Read 1915 times)

Offline Jim Svitko

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Silicone exhaust deflectors
« on: April 18, 2022, 07:31:30 AM »
I have a RO Jett 67 with the tube muffler.  Due to the rear exhaust, it looks like I have to add one of those silicone exhaust deflectors that will protrude out the bottom of the fuselage.

I have heard that those pre-formed exhaust deflectors can cause quite a power loss.  I have never used one before so I have no experience with them.

Another possibility is to get a length of silicone tubing, of the proper ID, clamp it to the end of the muffler, and then make a gradual curve in it to come out the bottom, without having a rather abrupt change in direction.  If I go this route, how much pressure must the tubing withstand?  The properties of this tubing can vary so I want to make sure I am getting something that will hold up to the operating conditions.

If anyone has experience with this, what do you recommend?  Thanks.

Offline Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Silicone exhaust deflectors
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2022, 08:05:52 AM »