News:

• March 29, 2024, 12:17:45 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Older designs - engine cooling  (Read 2659 times)

Offline Mark Legg

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
Older designs - engine cooling
« on: December 09, 2020, 01:28:11 AM »
Growing up in a world of British diesel powered designs, lots of provision is made around the cowl for keeping them cool.

I'm currently doing a van loo chipmunk, and I've noticed on a lot of other designs of the era, there doesn't appear to be much in the way of letting hot air out of the cowling, just the head poking out of the bottom and the exhaust slot.

What's the reason for that? Do glows naturally run cooler? Or should I add more means of heat escape? I mean it obviously worked for them. And if I can get a way with less cutting and carving, I will....

Offline Gary Dowler

• Admiral
Re: Older designs - engine cooling
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2020, 02:17:15 AM »
I have zero experience with diesel airplane engines, but the glow engines do well with what might appear to be minimal airflow.  They need it, yes, but if the design is a proven one, such as the Super Chipmunk (which I’m building as well) then the airflow you see in the design is adequate for the task. 

You can aid the cooling issue by running fuel with extra castor oil in it. Castor carries away heat in a way that synthetic oil simply cannot duplicate.   The high castor is essential in many older engines such as Fox or McCoy, etc.

Gary
Profanity is the crutch of the illiterate mind

Offline John Park

• Agricola
  • Captain
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2020, 04:23:52 AM »