News:

• May 20, 2024, 12:51:33 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: K&B .61 stiff crank  (Read 723 times)

Dwayne

• Trade Count: (0)
K&B .61 stiff crank
« on: September 09, 2010, 08:36:12 AM »
Hi all I just scored a NIB K&B .61 baffled engine and when I tighten the prop nut the crank gets very stiff, when I loosen the prop nut the crank is still stiff and I have to tap the crank to get it to loosen up, any ideas?
Thanks
Dwayne

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: K&B .61 stiff crank
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2010, 09:09:34 AM »
Now you know why it was so cheap?

I have no experience with that particular engine, so take this all with a grain of salt -- hopefully someone who knows more will say more.

The problem is that there is insufficient clearance for the crank and prop drive.  Reasons that I can think of for this happening are because:

• It's a lemon, and has been wrong from day 1
  • someone changed bearings and put them in wrong
  • someone put in the wrong bearings
  • someone put them in with crud in the hole which prevents them from seating all the way in
  • the case is damaged, and it either prevents the bearings from seating or raised a bung or burr in the nose by the prop drive
  • the prop drive or crank is damaged, allowing the prop drive to go on the crank too far
  • someone assembled it with an incorrect shim between prop drive and crank case
  • ??

AMA 64232

The problem with electric is that once you get the smoke generator and sound system installed, the plane is too heavy.

Dwayne

« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2010, 09:18:42 AM »

I have no experience with that particular engine, so take this all with a grain of salt -- hopefully someone who knows more will say more.

The problem is that there is insufficient clearance for the crank and prop drive.  Reasons that I can think of for this happening are because: