News:

• April 24, 2024, 07:02:01 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: engine / fuel system problem  (Read 2579 times)

Offline Hemi Steve

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
engine / fuel system problem
« on: October 26, 2018, 08:27:16 AM »
Engine experts:

I'm a returning control line guy.  I flew control line in the 50's with a fox .35 on profile models.  I went into r/c in 1960. 
I've been flying control line again for 2 years.  I've got a nagging fuel delivery (I think) problem.
My setup:
Sig Banshee with r/c throttle control
Evolution .40NT r/c engine
APC 11x3 prop
OS #8 plug
Cool power 10%
Muffler pressure on a 4oz clunk tank mounted on engine centerline in side view

I tune the engine to a rich 2 cycle.  When I fly maneuvers, inside maneuvers are generally ok.  engine might lean out a small amount on the down line part.  When I fly negative g maneuvers the engine goes waylean.  Not so lean as it will quit but I think that since it quickly goes back to the rich 2 cycle when I pull out to level flight helps here.  I will never be a competitive flyer but trying to fly decent looking maneuvers is made more difficult with the way the engine runs.  I have noticed that if I throttle the engine back to about 3/4 it makes very little difference in my lap time but the leaning out problem is improved. I also have a Brodak Accentor with the same setup except the engine is inverted....same problem.  Also, inverted laps run the same as upright laps

I've run the evolution engines in my r/c models for years and never had this problem.  I know that control line is not the same but I'm stumped.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Steve

Offline Hemi Steve

• Lieutenant
Re: engine / fuel system problem
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2018, 12:03:44 PM »
Thanks for the reply Motorman