News:

• April 24, 2024, 06:24:23 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: COMPLETE NEWBEE: Glow Starter and Fuel Syringe Question  (Read 2534 times)

Offline Brendan Eberenz

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
COMPLETE NEWBEE: Glow Starter and Fuel Syringe Question
« on: June 25, 2018, 08:45:48 PM »
I am 2 weeks new to Control Line flying. Take it easy on me if my questions have been answered before.

The first plane for my 8 year old son and I is a Rugged Stunt Trainer. It has a K&B .28 Sportster Engine.

1st Question) Does the syringe we use to draw fuel out of the original bottle have to be Nylon? We are using fuel with 10% nitro. We found plastic ones with rubber gaskets that are cheaper, however, we didn't know if the fuel would degrade the plastic/rubber, mix into the fuel, and over time damage the engine. Any thoughts on this?

2nd Question) What should I be looking for in a glow starter? How much power should it give? Is it okay to by one that takes a loose battery or should it be an all in one rechargeable unit? Is having a power meter on the glow starter important? Perspective on a glow starter would be great. Recommendations on to a cheap but reasonable glow starter would be even better.

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: COMPLETE NEWBEE: Glow Starter and Fuel Syringe Question
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2018, 10:03:35 PM »
1st Question) Does the syringe we use to draw fuel out of the original bottle have to be Nylon? We are using fuel with 10% nitro. We found plastic ones with rubber gaskets that are cheaper, however, we didn't know if the fuel would degrade the plastic/rubber, mix into the fuel, and over time damage the engine. Any thoughts on this?