News:

• April 25, 2024, 07:48:27 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Brodak .40  (Read 2786 times)

Offline Larry Fernandez

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Brodak .40
« on: August 09, 2020, 07:44:40 PM »
Hi all, I replaced the tired Johnson Stunt (small case) in my Hemstrought PT-19 with a Brodak .40.
I have no experience with this motor and Id like to hear from those who have.
what  prop works best, what fuel and how much fuel to fly the pattern,

Larry, Buttafucco Stunt Team

Offline Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Brodak .40
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2020, 08:04:42 PM »
   Hi Larry;
    I have one on a profile model that is basically a SIG Twister that is Fancherized to look like a Shark.35. I run mine on SIG Champion 10% nitro or anything similar, and when new needed almost 5 ounces to do the pattern here in the midwest. That got better over time if memory serves me correctly it's between 3 3/4 to 4 ounces now that the engine has some time on it. Props are APC 11-4, APC 11.5-4, ThunderTiger 11.5-4 or 11.5-5 ( this is the prop that Randy Smith had a bunch made and are available from him,)  and for a full fuselage model like that, any 11-4 or 11-5 prop is worth trying. I broke mine in as per instructions with 20 or so 2 minute long runs on a test stand using a 10-4 prop, cooling  to the touch in between runs.
  There have been several "runs" of these engine made through the years, and some guys have had some issues, but I don't recall anyone having any major issues with them. I think these are made at the same factory as the Double Star engines and other Russian engines and such??? I haven't had mine down off the wall in a while but it's still almost like new with a LOT of time on it, so they are pretty durable., good metallurgy.

Good luck with yours, and type at you later,
   Dan McEntee
AMA 28784
EAA  1038824
AMA 480405 (American Motorcyclist Association)

Offline peabody

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral