News:

• March 28, 2024, 05:02:49 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Bladder fuel tanks for stunt  (Read 1392 times)

Offline John Skukalek

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Bladder fuel tanks for stunt
« on: March 09, 2023, 06:49:13 AM »
I'm a beginner. Wondering why bladder tanks aren't used in stunt. Or are they?

Offline frank mccune

• AMA Member
  • Admiral
Re: Bladder fuel tanks for stunt
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2023, 09:56:55 AM »
     Hi:

They have been used in the past.  How well, is debatable! 

Frank

Offline John Skukalek

• 24 supporter
  • Commander
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2023, 10:41:10 AM »
Hi Frank, and thank you for your response.

Offline Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2023, 11:05:43 AM »
  You see some guys use bladder tanks on smaller models to help with the power and the run for flying stunt. I'm sure it has been used and tried by many people, but bladders have their own set of problems to deal with, namely they tend to burst, and that just doesn't fit in with having one in a 20 point finished stunt model!! The one exception is Paul Walker's B-17 four engine stunt model. Look around here on the forum or the internet for videos of it if you haven't seen it. He fed the four OS .15 ( I think ) from one main bladder to help ensure that the engine all quit at approximately the same time. Used a pressure regulator on each engine that I think might have been his own design, to help with getting each engine to run evenly and consistently. Paul built two or three of these I believe and to say they were a resounding success is an understatement. I never read about any issues with the bladder he used, and I imagine he just changed them frequently to avoid the bursting issue. Fore most single and even twin engine stunt models, if any kind of tank pressure is needed, simple muffler pressure is a lot easier to apply and maintain.
  Type at you later,
   Dan McEntee