News:

• May 18, 2024, 03:46:06 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Tight engine  (Read 3269 times)

Steve Kientz

• Trade Count: (0)
Tight engine
« on: June 20, 2007, 05:29:16 AM »
  I have 2 GMS .32s to break in. At the top of the stroke both of these engines are VERY tight,as in you can barely turn them by hand. Should I run these to break them in the way they are or should I oil them somewhat and work them by hand to free them up? Or , is this something an engine guru needs to take care of? Really don't want to ruin one.I have a GMS .25 and it wasn't anywhere near this tight.
  I'm fairly new to the hobby(father flew up until 35 years ago)so any firsthand knowledge i have is old.
Thanks in advance
Steve   

Offline Glen Wearden

• Commander
Re: Tight engine
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2007, 07:40:22 AM »
Steve, some of the ABC engines are so tight at the top they will squeak.  Go ahead and break them in per the manufacturer's instructions, and they should be OK.  Even after break-in, they'll probably be pretty tight at the top when cold.  Glen
Glen Wearden

Offline Ken Deboy

• Commander
    • Silk and Dope
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2007, 09:15:14 AM »
At least one manufacturer (Brodak) recommends that you don't turn the engine over slowly by hand as the fit is so tight you can damage the engine by doing so.

cheers,
Ken
There is a fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness"

Steve Kientz

« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2007, 10:38:51 AM »
hanks for the info ,will follow manufacturers break in

Steve

Offline Randy Powell

• 21 supporter
  • Admiral
  • TreeTop Flyer
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2007, 03:37:17 PM »