« Last Edit: March 10, 2022, 07:19:49 PM by Air Master »

Online Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Re: #1: Restoring a RING version Supertigre
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2021, 07:02:28 PM »
Hello Guys,

I have been using Supertigre engines for several decades.   I try to avoid the ring engines that don't have a chromed liner.  The reason is that the non chromed liners are soft and when they wear it is nearly impossible to restore compression.  (for me anyway)

In February I sold 8 used Supertigre GS 40s for $20.00 at our swap meet just because I can't restore them to normal compression.  The issue I found is the cylinders wear egg shaped and just using a brake hone or sandpaper does not straighten it, if it is worn good.

I have a Supertigre S61 that I want to restore, so I decided to take a different approach.  I took the cylinder to my friend's house and we put it in the lathe.   He started with 1/2 a thousandth cut to see what it looked like.  That revealed the wear pattern.  We took another 1 thousandth out and that did not remove the wear.  We ended taking another 1 thousandth out to get it to where a hone would clean it up.

I reassembled it using a new Supertigre factory ring.   ZERO compression.   HB~>

I decide to run the engine today to see if that would improve the compression.   The engine runs well, and after 12 oz of fuel, the compression has improved, but low.

I was wondering if any of you guys have restored any  engines with this type construction?   Are you able by some means to get normal compression?