News:

• May 27, 2024, 12:08:46 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: .049 Engine build Question  (Read 826 times)

Offline JamieHolford

• 2016 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
.049 Engine build Question
« on: July 30, 2010, 04:41:04 AM »
 Ok so I bought this crankcase a few days ago along with a new cylinder and piston.

The question I have is that after I put it all together. would I have to oil it in any kind of way before cranking or will the castor from the fuel lube it ok and it will be ok to run without worry of engine lock up or failure?

I know I will prolly have to acquire a reset tool for the piston as I hear numerous things about new pistons. I prolly could use a piston from a babe bee I have but i would prolly have to reset it aswell I would imagine.

Sorry Im new at this and it has really got my interest!

Or was it a bad idea getting this crankcase?

Offline john e. holliday

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: .049 Engine build Question
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2010, 10:31:11 AM »
Oil the parts as you assemble it.  Then run some rich runs to start break in.   H^^
John E. "DOC" Holliday
10421 West 56th Terrace
Shawnee, KANSAS  66203
AMA 23530  Have fun as I have and I am still breaking a record.

Offline dennis lipsett

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2010, 07:45:42 AM »
Oil the parts as you assemble it.  Then run some rich runs to start break in.   H^^

John,