News:

• March 29, 2024, 04:00:57 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: need to purchase control line airplane  (Read 5190 times)

Offline Mark kramer

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
need to purchase control line airplane
« on: January 16, 2008, 11:56:14 AM »
Hello,
      I'm a builder and flyer or pilot of radio controlled aircraft.After a resent conversation with my father -in -law about his child hood days of flying controll line .I thought I would have him show me how to fly control line,to give him some interest ,he has been having a difficult time with the chemo treatments he is receiving ,and needs something to take his mind off the discomfort and pain.So...I thought,.. him teaching me and possibly getting one of his vintage models back up would be a great motivator ..to enjoy life and not let it get him down.I know it could be difficult ,I'm a survivor myself....Anyway ,with my work schedule and other things I don't have time to build a kit....nor the desire to see another kit go up in flames so to say ..been there done that.So I'm wondering if you could point me to site where i could purchase a ARF or a RTF controll line plane ...for a newbee at least to this end of the sport.Something from a reputable company and..some what crash friendly.
Thanks so much ,if you could help
Sincerely
 Mark Kramer

Offline Mark Scarborough

• Admiral
Re: need to purchase control line airplane
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2008, 01:18:48 PM »
Mark
admirable quest! I think if you want crashworthy, and good flying, I would find a Ukey. I dont have contact information for him but I think its Jim Pearson(?) someone will surely correct me and provide information. The Ukey is a foam wing  very simple plane, it doesnt look like much but it is very durable, and easily repaired. Not to mention that its not very expensive. Best of luck
For years the rat race had me going around in circles, Now I do it for fun!
EXILED IN PULLMAN WA
AMA 842137