News:

• April 16, 2024, 04:44:54 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: remote needle valves.  (Read 1325 times)

Offline kevin king

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
remote needle valves.
« on: January 03, 2022, 06:34:48 PM »
I see Dub Jett makes some pretty cool remote NVA's and the OS  are ones are hard to F
find. My question is you will now have 2 NVA's, the remote one and the one in the venturi. How the heck does that work??

Offline 944_Jim

• 24 supporter
  • Captain
Re: remote needle valves.
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2022, 06:56:08 PM »
Kevin,
I'm no expert in this one, and suspect you are looking way above 1/2A on this. The spray bar has no needle. Even any of the bigger conversions the needle is remote, and the spray bar is modified to no longer need the needle...either by blanking off the end, or by plugging the fuel nipple and running the line to where the needle once was. Or, in the case of OS, a replacement spray bar with only an inlet and hole/outlet replaces the more traditional needle/spray bar.

I read that some will solder an outlet onto a spray bar with soldered-on bracket to create a remote needle valve, and then place a "needle-less" spray bar in the venturi...either custom built as inlet/outlet, or, again, blanked-off where the needle used to be.
I sure hope all that makes sense...it is the best I can come up with in a blink. I wish I kept those links now!

Offline Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2022, 09:18:17 AM »
  All of the remote needle valve OS engines had a spray bar that was solid except for the outlet hole. You may find some of those in at Tower Hobbies still, or in some one's junk box. Because they have no needle in them, the OD of the spray bar is a bit smaller. Fox made a universal remote needle valve assembly also, that worked OK, but I don't recall seeing that they made a special spray bar for it.
  Type at you later,
  Dan McEntee
AMA 28784