Speed,Combat,Scale,Racing > Combat

A RETURN?

(1/2) > >>

Andre Ming:
Yup. You read correctly.

I'm contemplating reactivating within the hobby. However, I need to determine the feasibility of it before I waste time/money.

FIRST ISSUES to SOLVE:

Have any of you come up with a good system for solo starting as well as remote launching a combat wing that would allow me to solo fly?

There are ZERO C/L enthusiasts that I know of in my immediate region. (Eastern OK near Fort Smith, AR.) IF I fly again, 90% of it would be solo. The years of involving my wife in flight sessions are past and gone. (Not fair to her, plus she hated the exhaust goo, noise, etc.)

SO...

Have any of you successfully devised a combat wing launcher that lends itself to hand starting??

Andre Ming

john e. holliday:
I wish you were here as I have a launcher for combat wings that works for me.  I would have to look but I think I have pictures on here some where.  It has been over three years since I have been out flying.  Plan is using the launchers for my 1/2A's in the back yard.  If I get in the mood maybe I will get the camera charged and take pictures.   They won't let me out of the house for any length of time when temps get above 80F degrees. D>K

Andre Ming:
Hi Doc!

Glad yer still a' kickin'!

I would love to see pics, but please consider your health. It can wait.

Being self sufficient in starting/launching is the single biggest hurdle for me. IF I can conquer that, then returning to flying can be an "as in the mood" sort of thing without inconveniencing the wife (ain't happenin'), or having to wait until I can hook up with a (currently non-existent) flying bud.

I've lost touch with all the C/L'ers I was in the loop with.