News:

• April 26, 2024, 11:47:49 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Wing landing gear on Vector 40: it's a good idea?  (Read 3221 times)

Offline Carlos Goncalves

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
Wing landing gear on Vector 40: it's a good idea?
« on: August 22, 2017, 08:30:19 AM »
Hello fellows!

My name is Carlos and I'm a 38 year-old pilot from Brazil. I've flying RC since 2005 but I've started Control Line at December 2016.

I have a ARC Brodak Vector 40 kit and I'll electrify it! But I always prefer the wing landing gear mount instead of fuselage mount. So I'm wondering if it's a good idea to change the original project and build the Vector with landing gear on wings.

Would you can give some advices about this idea?

Thank you so much!

Best regards!

Carlos Gonçalves
Brazil
Regards,

Carlos Gonçalves
Brazil

Offline Paul Smith

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Wing landing gear on Vector 40: it's a good idea?
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2017, 09:25:50 AM »
In general, I use wing gears whenever possible.  It gets the gear out of the engine/tank area.
More important, it eliminates the spreading that is all too common on wishbone landing gears.  The struts can move fore-and-aft, providing shock-absorbing without damage.  It's also easier to make a wing gear removable.

But, if the airplane is already built, it may be difficult to install the supporting structure.
Paul Smith

Offline Carlos Goncalves

• New Pilot
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2017, 09:58:23 AM »
In general, I use wing gears whenever possible.  It gets the gear out of the engine/tank area.
More important, it eliminates the spreading that is all too common on wishbone landing gears.  The struts can move fore-and-aft, providing shock-absorbing without damage.  It's also easier to make a wing gear removable.

But, if the airplane is already built, it may be difficult to install the supporting structure.

Cool!