News:

• May 03, 2024, 04:59:45 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Custom Control Horn  (Read 2222 times)

Offline TDM

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Custom Control Horn
« on: January 18, 2018, 09:25:08 AM »
Hey I am making custom control horns for REvolution and I heave a question. What type of material do you use for the wire that goes in the horn. I need an exact name for it. I know it is some kind of spring steel but not sure which one.
Each goal you meet is a moment of happiness
Happiness is the harmony between what you think and what you do. Mahatma Gandhi

Offline Mike Haverly

• Captain
Re: Custom Control Horn
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2018, 10:38:27 AM »
I've been using 7018 gas welding rod for quite a few years.  A2 is fine if plan on never have to adjust with a bend;  It will break.  7018 has a yield of 70,000 PSI, I've never had one fail, even through a crash.  FYI this is not my invention, I know of quite a few other people who fly and build much better than I and that is what they use.

Mike

Offline TDM

• Captain
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2018, 02:00:18 PM »
Guise here is where I am heading. There is no brazing in this horn. In my horns I bend 90 degrees and cut to length and the wire job is done.
A2 got it.

Offline Brett Buck

• Admiral
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2018, 04:45:16 PM »
I've been using 7018 gas welding rod for quite a few years.  A2 is fine if plan on never have to adjust with a bend;  It will break.  7018 has a yield of 70,000 PSI, I've never had one fail, even through a crash.  FYI this is not my invention, I know of quite a few other people who fly and build much better than I and that is what they use.