News:

• March 28, 2024, 02:51:18 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Profile from full fuselage plan  (Read 2009 times)

Offline Craig Beswick

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Profile from full fuselage plan
« on: October 09, 2019, 03:14:59 AM »
Hi guys,
can you tell me if I can copy a side view from a full fuselage plan and build a profile fuselage from it? I guess the answer is sure go right ahead, but.....

I suppose the question is, will it still fly as it should or are there aerodynamic issues that need to be addressed first?

I am a novice and don't think my Super Clown is going to last very long! I have an Accentor which, once I am competent, I will build but I think I need a lot more practice yet and a profile seems to make a lot more sense.

I would rather not buy another profile kit, I think I am competent enough to build what I need, I am just not up to the technicalities of design.
Regards
Craig
AUS 87123
"The Ninja"

Offline 944_Jim

• 24 supporter
  • Captain
Re: Profile from full fuselage plan
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2019, 06:25:54 AM »
Mr. Craig,

Just do it! Some may say a profile fuselage flexes more than a full fuselage, but other than that you have no addditional concerns.
I would also recommend you build the wing minus the ribs that the full fuselage fits on, in other words remove the center section. You may wind up moving a bellcrank platform to the bay just left of center or leave it centered in the wing, but sheet the middle bay to give the profile fuselage something to hang onto.
I would build the wing with a center rib and sheeting straddling the bay to either side of the center rib. This is so the fuselage leverages a structural piece through the wing (the rib), and something for you to stick your covering to when you have to repair the model (the sheeting).