News:

• March 28, 2024, 11:03:00 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Painting my Shoestring  (Read 1096 times)

Offline Nick Petrou

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
Painting my Shoestring
« on: May 30, 2021, 02:15:20 PM »
Hello All,
Firstly thank you for allowing me to be part of this magnificent hobby, I've only just started , so I have no experience in painting a balsa plane. My question is how do I achieve a beautiful finish on a profile Shoestring made of solid balsa. I understand that sanding is where the magic happens, what is the steps in from after sanding to final coat. Thank you for taking the time to read my question.

Offline john e. holliday

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Painting my Shoestring
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2021, 03:57:27 PM »
First off take time and go to the finish and painting section and start reading.  There are many ways to get a decent finish.  In that section you will see I don't use dope any more. H^^
John E. "DOC" Holliday
10421 West 56th Terrace
Shawnee, KANSAS  66203
AMA 23530  Have fun as I have and I am still breaking a record.

Offline Craig Beswick

• 24 supporter
  • Captain
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2021, 04:27:26 PM »
Welcome Nick,
there are many and varied ways to finish your new pride and joy.

As the Doc said the first step is to heck out the Paint and Finish section on the Home Page. Have a look at the, "A Few Thoughts on Finishing", post to start with.

Also, check out Stunthanger Video and look at the play lists. Robert gets a fantastic finish on his models.

All the best
Craig

AUS 87123
"The Ninja"

Offline Nick Petrou

• New Pilot
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2021, 04:47:30 PM »
Thank you to all for the advice. Much appreciated 👍

Online Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2021, 05:00:19 PM »
  Hi Nick;