News:

• March 28, 2024, 04:14:39 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Carving a 59 Ares Nose Scoop?  (Read 5048 times)

Offline Flying Knight

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
Carving a 59 Ares Nose Scoop?
« on: July 03, 2015, 04:32:29 AM »
I am building a 59 Ares from a Brodak kit.  All is going well so far.  One of the most distinctive parts of the Ares is the cool air intake scoop in the nose.  The kit come with a very nice plastic scoop, but I would like to build mine just like they would have done back in the sixties. I have attempted to carve this piece out of balsa and find I am not very good at it. Were these old model builders master craftsman or am I missing some tricks on how to do this?  Anybody still carve these pieces?  Thanks!

Offline Avaiojet

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
  • Just here for the fun of it also.
Re: Carving a 59 Ares Nose Scoop?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2015, 05:51:01 AM »
Flying Knight,

I have the nose block for an Ares. Yes, kept these Ares pieces and others for over 55 years! You are welcome to it, but the wood is a tad heavy.

Could work as a test bed for the task.

Trump Derangement Syndrome. TDS. 
Avaiojet Derangement Syndrome. ADS.
Amazing how ignorance can get in the way of the learning process.
If you're Trolled, you know you're doing something right.  Alpha Mike Foxtrot. "No one has ever made a difference by being like everyone else."  Marcus Cordeiro, The "Mark of Excellence," you will not be forgotten. "No amount of evidence will ever persuade an idiot."- Mark Twain. I look at the Forum as a place to contribute and make friends, some view it as a Realm where they could be King.   Proverb 11.9  "With his mouth the Godless destroys his neighbor..."  "Perhaps the greatest challenge in modeling is to build a competitive control line stunter that looks like a real airplane." David McCellan, 1980.

Offline Don Jenkins

• 24 supporter
  • Commander
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2015, 05:58:29 AM »