Building Tips and technical articles. > Building techniques

Fancherized Twister Build Chronicle for Jr. NATs

(1/16) > >>

Brendan Eberenz:
My son, Angstrom (age 11), and I (Brendan) are going to build a Fancherized Twister. I've built multiple foam wing trainer planes and one kit (a Lightning Streak). I've also done a lot of repairs on planes we have crashed as we try to get up to speed on Stunt. I'm a novice builder, at best, but it's time to get my hands dirty and see if we can crank out a Fancherized Twister. Angstrom has entered the Beginner competition at the NATs the last couple of years and we are hopeful that this plane can be his entry for the Junior event. That event has a BOM component, so this is essentially Angstrom's build. The other thing to keep in mind is that we want to keep the plane within expectations for a Nostalgia entry. Angstrom has some other planes he will use for other events, but we would like to have this Twister available for events  (after NATs) where Nostalgia is an option.

I have read some of the Fancherized building threads and have some sense of what to do, but we don't have a local veteran builder looking over our shoulder. That's why I want to start this thread chronicling our build and giving people an opportunity to weigh in (hopefully before we screw something up). I will provide as many pictures as I can and try to keep people updated as we progress or gameplan. I also regularly attend the Monday/Friday online hangout sessions. Angstrom and I plan to try to attend the Friday calls for on the spot help and advice from those in attendance.

Let me update you on where we are going into the build tomorrow night...