News:

• March 28, 2024, 03:06:08 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Checkala Roma project  (Read 2435 times)

Offline jerry v

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Checkala Roma project
« on: September 14, 2021, 12:47:46 PM »
It all started at 2021 NATS. I met Joe Gilbert. I was inspired by his abilities to fly  any model any time and remember different pattern routines. I was practicing intermediate stunt and Joe was practicing OTS with his Ringmaster on the neighboring circle.I started to think flying OTS too.
When I was at the flying field of our home club after NATS, we practice PAMPA stunt with John Ward, our club member. During the time of rest and discussion I told him about my interest in OTS flying. I have a Nobler and a Ringmaster, both electric. And then John told me the story of Checkala Roma - first stunt model with symmetrical airfoil, about the 13 year old boy who flew inverted and was a winner of the Walker Cup for three years on a row, 1946, 1947,1948. And also about the song.
When I looked up the information about model Checkala Roma, pictures and prints, I wanted to build it.

Jerry
Variety is the spice of life.

Offline jerry v

• Commander
Re: Checkala Roma project
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2021, 01:45:50 PM »
John Ward and I agreed to build this model. John will build it in the conventional way like original- balsa, ply, silkspan, glow engine ( maybe spark ignition). I decided to build Checkala Roma electric, and make it from foam, and cover it in the silkspan and white glue. It was the first week of August, and I was thinking to finish the model to participate in OTS during Bob Hunt’s Snow flakes event in the first weekend of October. It’s faster to build model from foam. John printed the plans and presented it to me on August 2nd . Thanks, John, now I owe you!))
I decided to make a wing first. I have enough white stucco foam size 3x24x36 inch.