News:

• March 28, 2024, 05:01:46 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Building Board  (Read 3202 times)

Offline Dennis Leonhardi

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
    • AirClassix on eBay
Building Board
« on: February 02, 2020, 10:19:53 AM »
I've been using Homasote for several years, works great.  Purchased 4' x 8' sheets at Home Depot, they cut it to sizes I specified.  Now that I need a fresh supply, Home Depot no longer carries it; only Menards has it in my area, and they won't do any cutting.

What would be a good substitute, something I can have cut to the size I want?

Dennis
Think for yourself !  XXX might win the Nats, be an expert on designing, building, finishing, flying, tuning engines - but you might not wanna take tax advice from him.  Or consider his views on the climate to be fact ...

Offline Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Building Board
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2020, 10:53:59 AM »
  You should be able to cut homasote with a safety knife pretty easy. Just figure out the rough dimensions you want and cut it up a bit oversize there at the store. Then trim to final size at home. Even a small fine toothed hand saw will do what you need to do. A little bit of extra work but at least you can find it in your area that way. Celotex ceiling tiles are another option. This material can be purchased in large sheets also to use for sound proofing. It cuts easily also.
  Type at you later,
    Dan McEntee
AMA 28784
EAA  1038824
AMA 480405 (American Motorcyclist Association)

Offline louie klein

• Commander
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2020, 01:20:05 PM »
I use a Melomine shelf ( very stable) and I glue pink styro to it . Make extra copies of plans to cut up and tape them to the foam, Don't forget the wax paper.---Louie

Offline Howard Rush

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2020, 02:36:49 PM »