News:

• April 16, 2024, 08:53:59 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Best method to wrap or crimp stranded LE wire?  (Read 973 times)

Offline kevin king

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Best method to wrap or crimp stranded LE wire?
« on: December 31, 2022, 04:23:15 AM »
I cant find any info on making the termination on stranded lead out wire at the wing tip. Im using the stranded lead outs that came in the Vector 40 kit. I would prefer not using a crimp. Is there a method of making a Soft wrap that is fail safe and legal in the rule book? This is my first time using stranded lead out cables and i want to make sure they are done right.
Kevin.

Offline Craig Beswick

• 24 supporter
  • Captain
Re: Best method to wrap or crimp stranded LE wire?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2022, 04:58:21 AM »
Sparky has about 5 videos on wrapping leadouts.

Craig
AUS 87123
"The Ninja"

Online Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2022, 07:21:55 AM »
I cant find any info on making the termination on stranded lead out wire at the wing tip. Im using the stranded lead outs that came in the Vector 40 kit. I would prefer not using a crimp. Is there a method of making a Soft wrap that is fail safe and legal in the rule book? This is my first time using stranded lead out cables and i want to make sure they are done right.
Kevin.

Just do them like you would the ends of flying lines. I have been using .027" cable for my lead outs. Get an appropriate eyelet, slide some heat shrink tubing onto the cable, make the first loop around the eyelet, wrap the cable with thin gauge copper wire going away from the eyelet about 3/4", fold the remaining cable over, wrap with wire going back towards the eyelet, clip[ off excess, tuck the end in some where, slide the heat shrink over it all and shrink. Reppeat for the other side.

Type at you later and
  HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!
  Dan McEntee
AMA 28784
EAA  1038824