News:

• May 09, 2024, 04:46:17 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Carousel....Anyone remember from the 60's...?  (Read 1646 times)

Offline joe renfro

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Ensign
Carousel....Anyone remember from the 60's...?
« on: November 24, 2007, 06:28:19 PM »
I built a plane scratch from plans ordered from either MAN or Flying Models...back in the 60's...It was a big.,56-58 " wingspan and a twin boon concept airplane..The story in the mag was that its builder had won the current nats stunt with it and here it is for all you aggressive builders out there...I ordered the plans and thought I had overloaded my hummingbird backside with such an endeavor,,,but somehow I finished the plane..just about the time I graduated High School and was off to college...Never flew the plane....but left strict instructions to everyone in house NOT to let anything happen to my plane......Now its the early 70's..I am in Houston,tx...flying at Melrose park...flying Shoestrings, Busters, Ringmasters,etc...The Carousel is now in my garage having survived many forgotten years in DeQuincy,La. and made the move to Texas unscathed...just knew one of those blasted booms was gonna get busted..Bought a ST .46 to put in the plane for its first flight...very nervous after all this gal has been through for me to lunch it on the tarmac at Melrose...ST purring....lift-off ..it handles very nicely....did a few loops , lazy 8's,..nothing fancy...landed ..wiped it down...back in the car with booms intact....it is now 2007....it has been living very peacefully for the last 30 years in my quaint house in the Houston Heights...now as a result of ungodly raises in prop taxes..I am out of my restored Victorian and in *(%$^&^$%%) Santa Fe,Texas....the Carouse once again has made a trip and still remained with both booms.  It needs re-covering..I may do that on the old girl..The ST .46 is still around..never used on another plane, so its like new..its just 40 years old...