Building Tips and technical articles. > ARF'S

Top Flite Nobler - second hand rebuild for CL newbie

(1/6) > >>

Mike Quinn:
Hi

I've inherited a Top Flite Nobler from an RC club mate who does a bit of CL.  He was going to bin it but knew I might be interested in adding to my collection of 3rd hand models as I'm just starting out in CL although lots of experience in FF and RC.

I've stripped all the monokote off it as it was falling off anyway, and repaired what needed repairing.  Covered the wings in medium polyspan and fuse/tail in 15u mylar and Japanese tissue.  It's just about ready to start priming.  Was going to spray KlassKote. 

Thing is it's 48oz (1380g) right now, ready to fly so to speak.  I reckon spray job might take it up to 52oz (not looking for a competition finish ... just a average club Sunday flier finish so to speak).

With an OS40 or 46 ... will this weight still be OK for a model to learn basic F2B schedule on?  Or as an option could I get away with a smaller motor at this weight?

Cheers

Mike

Brett Buck:

--- Quote from: Mike Quinn on October 26, 2020, 10:12:45 AM ---Hi

I've inherited a Top Flite Nobler from an RC club mate who does a bit of CL.  He was going to bin it but knew I might be interested in adding to my collection of 3rd hand models as I'm just starting out in CL although lots of experience in FF and RC.

I've stripped all the monokote off it as it was falling off anyway, and repaired what needed repairing.  Covered the wings in medium polyspan and fuse/tail in 15u mylar and Japanese tissue.  It's just about ready to start priming.  Was going to spray KlassKote. 

Thing is it's 48oz (1380g) right now, ready to fly so to speak.  I reckon spray job might take it up to 52oz (not looking for a competition finish ... just a average club Sunday flier finish so to speak).