News:

• March 28, 2024, 11:30:59 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: My SV-11 just arrived.  (Read 9467 times)

Online John Rist

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
My SV-11 just arrived.
« on: December 26, 2018, 01:17:24 PM »
Santa brought me an SV-11 (electric) for Christmas.  This is my first full body stunt ship.  It's way more than i need because I am still learning the beginners stunt patter.   That's not to say that I am learning to fly.  I have been flying for years.  But it has always been just sport flying and I have flown some scale.  But Santa knows that big boys need new toys.

Anyway I have read everything I could find on Stunt Hanger about the ARF SV-11 by Brodak.   I will address all of the problems pointed out by others.  The first suggestion I took to heart was that a control system up grade was desirable.  All suggested a Tom Morris upgrade.  Tom lives just south of me in Alabama.  I have had dealings with him for some time now.  He is a master in our control line community.   I emailed him and asked what he would recommend for my SV-11.  Three days later the postman brought me Thom's hardware.  His setup address every comment made about the stock SV-11 hardware.  Tom's hardware has offset control horns, brass bushings on the control  horns,  flap to elevator is 1:1. and the bell-crank is the latest and greatest.  Photo attached.

And as I progress in the assembly  I will comment with my solution to various problems.  Thank You Santa!   #^   #^
« Last Edit: December 26, 2018, 05:20:24 PM by John Rist »
John Rist
AMA 56277

Online John Rist

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: My SV-11 just arrived.
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2018, 03:57:06 PM »
Inspect the connections of the lead outs to the bellcrank very carefully for security and make sure they move freely. Also inspect and test the solder joints on the horn arms.