Building Tips and technical articles. > ARF'S

My SV-11 just arrived.

(1/8) > >>

John Rist:
Santa brought me an SV-11 (electric) for Christmas.  This is my first full body stunt ship.  It's way more than i need because I am still learning the beginners stunt patter.   That's not to say that I am learning to fly.  I have been flying for years.  But it has always been just sport flying and I have flown some scale.  But Santa knows that big boys need new toys.

Anyway I have read everything I could find on Stunt Hanger about the ARF SV-11 by Brodak.   I will address all of the problems pointed out by others.  The first suggestion I took to heart was that a control system up grade was desirable.  All suggested a Tom Morris upgrade.  Tom lives just south of me in Alabama.  I have had dealings with him for some time now.  He is a master in our control line community.   I emailed him and asked what he would recommend for my SV-11.  Three days later the postman brought me Thom's hardware.  His setup address every comment made about the stock SV-11 hardware.  Tom's hardware has offset control horns, brass bushings on the control  horns,  flap to elevator is 1:1. and the bell-crank is the latest and greatest.  Photo attached.

And as I progress in the assembly  I will comment with my solution to various problems.  Thank You Santa!   #^   #^

John Rist:

--- Quote from: Motorman on December 26, 2018, 09:07:21 PM ---Inspect the connections of the lead outs to the bellcrank very carefully for security and make sure they move freely. Also inspect and test the solder joints on the horn arms.

I'm hoping that's a weird camera angle on the elevator horn because it looks tilted back and not square.

Motorman 8)

--- End quote ---
As you suggested I checked everything.  Every thing looks good. Anything that I have gotten  from Tom Morris has always been done right.

John Rist: