News:

• May 01, 2024, 10:16:14 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Electric ARF super clown for newbie?  (Read 130299 times)

Offline NeilMclean

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
Electric ARF super clown for newbie?
« on: June 17, 2015, 08:03:22 PM »
Hi everyone. I'm a complete newbie other than helping my dad 35 years ago to launch his combat planes. After he passed away 3 years ago I promised myself I would do what I have always wanted to do and get into some CL flying (life is too short not to)

I've been reading and googling everything I can and I think I've come to the conclusion that electric is the way for me. After watching a video online by Shug Emery I immediately loved the look of the super clown. It seems bigger than the 1/2 A enough to make flying more involving, and small enough to be easier to learn with.

My main question is has anyone here had one of these and what do you think of them for a beginner?

ALL replies would be greatly appreciated!

Offline Rudy Taube

• Ret Flyboy
  • Admiral
Re: Electric ARF super clown for newbie?
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2015, 11:21:47 PM »
Hi Neil,

The Brodak Electric ARF Super Clown is a great plane for a new CL flyer. You can buy the complete E setup from Brodak, or go to the excellent "Electric" site here on the SH forum. Look in the "airplane setups" at the top of the site. There you will see many setups for the Super Clown. The electric section here on SH has all the info. you need to get started flying ECL.

If you have a CL flyer in your area to help with the 1st "trim flight" and your 1st flight, you should have no problem flying CL.

If you do not have anyone to help you with your 1st flights, then you may want to start with the ARF Elec. Baby Clown flying over soft grass. Get the Super Clown too, and save it for your 2nd CL plane.  ;-)

I'm sure your dad is somewhere smiling while watching his son getting into CL flying. :-)

Rudy
AMA 1667

Offline NeilMclean

• Lieutenant