News:

• May 12, 2024, 11:47:01 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Tee Dee, or not Tee Dee, that's the question  (Read 891 times)

Offline wwwarbird

• 2016 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
  • Welcome to the Stunt Hanger.
Tee Dee, or not Tee Dee, that's the question
« on: May 12, 2020, 09:21:38 PM »

Just wondering here. Relating to design, what are the specific performance differences between the Cox Medallion and Tee Dee .09 engines?  D>K
Narrowly averting disaster since 1964! 

Wayne Willey
Albert Lea, MN U.S.A. IC C/L Aircraft Modeler, Ex AMA member

Offline Dennis Leonhardi

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
    • AirClassix on eBay
Re: Tee Dee, or not Tee Dee, that's the question
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2020, 11:10:53 PM »
I'm no expert, but - unless you're running it for 6 seconds on a free flight model - I'd take the Cox Medallion any day for "everyday" use.

They are so much more forgiving and convenient, whereas the venturi and needle assembly on the Tee Dee can be a pain in the &#!@.

Some years back we used to practice combat with Top Flite Combat Kittens powered by Medallion .049s on bladders and short lines.  We could fly over and over again without doing anything but refueling and restarting.

That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

Dennis
Think for yourself !  XXX might win the Nats, be an expert on designing, building, finishing, flying, tuning engines - but you might not wanna take tax advice from him.  Or consider his views on the climate to be fact ...

Offline Fredvon4

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
  • Central Texas
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2020, 09:55:30 AM »
The TeeDee is very different (factory) from the Medallion in three significant ways (four if you consider power)

1. TD crank front induction....very large square port vs Medallion much smaller round port (significantly limits free flo ((less power))but dramatically increases ability to draw fuel / air from a hard tank)