News:

• April 27, 2024, 01:49:41 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Sig 1/2A's  (Read 1912 times)

Offline Clint Ormosen

• 2019 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Sig 1/2A's
« on: April 21, 2007, 03:39:49 AM »
Since I've been a modeler, I've never built the Sig Dewybird or the Staggerwing. So, I ordered these two kits from the LHS and picked them up yesterday along with an Akromaster kit.
They suck. The wood in the Dewybird kit is so bad, I doubt the plane would even get off the ground due to the weight. The Stagerwing isn't much better. Sterling wood was better than this.
I don't get it. Most of the Sig wood on the shelf is pretty good stuff. Why do they put all the crap wood in their kits? I've already replaced most of the Akromaster's wood.
Another thing, I thought the Stagerwing was supposed to be a stuntable model? How stuntable can it be with flat bottom wings?
-Clint-

AMA 559593
Finding new and innovated ways to screw up the pattern since 1993

Offline minnesotamodeler

• 2014 Supporters
  • Admiral
  • Me and my Chief Engineer
    • Minnesotamodeler
Re: Sig 1/2A's
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2007, 07:48:18 AM »
Insides only?

Seriously, I'd be more concerned with its weight--flat-bottom wings WILL fly inverted, with enough angle of attack. Not pretty, but do-able. Besides, those solid wings are so thin the airfoil probably doesn't have much effect anyway.  But "too heavy"--that'll have a BIG effect.

--Ray
--Ray 
Roseville MN (St. Paul suburb, Arctic Circle)
AMA902472

Offline George

• Admiral
  • Love people, Use things.
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2007, 08:08:31 AM »
I haven't built a lot of SIG kits... a couple of Skyrays, a Skyray35, and a couple of Akromasters, but so far I haven't replaced any defective wood. I DID substitute balsa ribs for the plywood ribs and half ribs on the Skyray 35, but that was by choice. Perhaps I've just been lucky.

If you wanna talk bad kit wood, think Berkeley!  :P

George
George Bain