News:

• May 07, 2024, 10:26:16 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Brodak ARF Baby Clown engine?  (Read 2220 times)

Offline AT1984

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
Brodak ARF Baby Clown engine?
« on: May 18, 2012, 03:24:09 PM »
I also posted this in the "Clowning Around" thread:

I know the Brodak Baby Clown (kit/ARF) is for .049's. Would an old (1952) McCoy .098 be too much engine for that plane? (I'm new to C/L, so don't be too harsh on me!)  ;D  

If it won't work on the Baby Clown, could someone suggest a plane for that engine?

Thanks!

Allen

Offline Bill Little

• Admiral
  • Second in COMMAND
Re: Brodak ARF Baby Clown engine?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2012, 03:34:41 PM »
Hi Allen,

If the McCoy is a good runner, then it will fly the Clown, but maybe just round and round.  Not a LOT of power there.

BIG Bear
RNMM/AMM
Big Bear <><

Aberdeen, NC

James Hylton Motorsports/NASCAR/ARCA

AMA 95351 (got one of my old numbers back! ;D )

Trying to get by

Offline dennis lipsett

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2012, 03:51:48 PM »
Bill,
Interesting, I used a McCoy098 on my first Jr Ringmaster. It didn't do much for the model but that engine did teach me a few things. The best was the use of 30 wt oil to get compression then a prime and then flip the prop like you ment it to start. It ran and then would freewheel about 3 times when it quit. Suprisingly it ran for quite awhile like that. Most of the Sportsman series wern't much to write home about.
So to the point, I'd use a modern 1/2A before using a heavy sinker. if in less then sterling condition I doubt that it would overpower the baby clown,just anchor it to the ground with it's weight.

Dennis

Offline AT1984

• Lieutenant
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2012, 04:19:38 PM »
"if in less then sterling condition I doubt that it would overpower the baby clown,just anchor it to the ground with it's weight."

Now that's a good one!

Anyone ELSE?!

Thanks,

Allen

Offline kenneth cook

• Admiral