News:

• March 28, 2024, 12:20:44 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Flying the Cox Planes  (Read 4473 times)

Offline David Hourston

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
Flying the Cox Planes
« on: February 08, 2023, 08:48:33 AM »
Hi,

I’m a newbie to CL. I just flew a .049 Cox Cessna 150 and really enjoyed it so I’ll be flying more CL.
I’ll be flying the Cox Cessna 150 and other Cox planes like the Stuka, Super Chipmunk and Hyper Viper as I progress.

I’ve a couple of questions:

I’m using Power Pro 10lb braided line as flyline (I also have  Power Pro 20lb if better).  Is Power Pro equivalent to the Spiderwire brand?

Should I use leadouts or can attach the braided line directly to the bellcrank as shown in the picture?

Thanks.

« Last Edit: February 08, 2023, 09:21:27 AM by David Hourston »
Cox Models! Best hobby memories...

Offline Larry Renger

• 21 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Flying the Cox Planes
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2023, 09:41:37 AM »
10 lb is just fine and tieing directly to the bellcrank is good.   H^^
Think S.M.A.L.L. y'all and, it's all good, CL, FF and RC!

DesignMan
 BTW, Dracula Sucks!  A closed mouth gathers no feet!

Offline David Hourston

• Lieutenant
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2023, 10:05:22 AM »
10 lb is just fine and tieing directly to the bellcrank is good.   H^^

Thanks Larry.

The plane flies very well. Great design!

Offline David Hourston

• Lieutenant
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2023, 01:29:22 PM »
Made a video of me flying the Cessna 150. I know lol  #^

Davehour flying his 1974 Cox Cessna 150 control line model
« Last Edit: February 14, 2023, 03:10:46 PM by David Hourston »

Offline john e. holliday

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2023, 02:34:03 PM »
That does bring back memories of helping people with their Cox planes.  One Christmas my brother got me the F-100 Saber Jet with the cox 020 engine.  Soon as dinner was over we went to the school yard and flew it. D>K