News:

• May 08, 2024, 10:48:19 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Tank mounting for baby clown  (Read 904 times)

Offline DanielGelinas

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Tank mounting for baby clown
« on: June 01, 2011, 07:49:06 PM »
Hi Guys,

I have a baby clown with cox surestart engine.
How do I mount the 3/8 ounce metal tank with respect to the engine?
Any special setup I need to know for a good run?
Pictures would certainly be apreciated as I am pretty new to this. I always ran the 1/2A's with the engins and tank as one, like the baby-bee etc...

Thanks!

-Danny H^^

Offline kenneth cook

• Admiral
Re: Tank mounting for baby clown
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2011, 08:05:39 PM »
         Dan, I would say that 3/8 oz sounds too small for a .049. I would be looking for 3/4 oz. I'm not sure what plane you have kit/arf or scratchbuilt. In the event you have a Brodak kit and it uses the nylon mount the mount may protrude into the tank area. This may require you to place a shim behind the tank so that you don't kick the front of the tank to the outside of the circle. I myself use a piece of 1/16 music wire inserted from the inboard side of the plane which pokes through the fuse to the outboard side. I make it slightly wider than the tank itself and once it pokes through the fuse I bend the ends into a J. You can then use rubber bands from one j bend to the other wrapping the rubber band over and over on itself. If anything you want to make the shim behind the tank into a small wedge. This would kick the back of the tank away from the fuse approx 3/32-1/8 which would help with your pickup being submerged in fuel but also using all of your available fuel. Keep your pickup approx centered on your engine for starters and adjust height after you flown inverted and upright. Once you've established the height you can always put a bit of silicone from the tank to the fuse to hold it from moving again. Ken

Offline DanielGelinas

• Captain