stunthanger.com
News:

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. June 23, 2017, 09:31:38 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How about some "New" stunts?  (Read 2827 times)
Skip Chernoff
Trade Count: (0)
Captain

« on: April 03, 2017, 06:39:28 PM »

Does anyone in the rule making community ever think of coming up with some "new" stunts just to keep things interesting?  How about a horizontal hourglass? a vertical square 8? upside down triangles? or any others you can think of.  Something to kick around...

Mark Scarborough
Admiral

« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2017, 06:46:28 PM »

Skip, I used to think that too, the first year I was flying or so.
for the record this topic surfaces about once a year or so and generally creates some rather heated debate so  pull up your firesuit, it could get hot in here.

bottom line, I am a mid pack ish Expert, the pattern is still anything but boring to me.
I will summerize a couple thoughts that result from this oft discussed topic.
#1  Put together your proposed pattern ideas, sanction ( or not) and run a contest with your revised pattern and see ho0w it goes
#2 when you can do it perfect then it will be boring?
#3 if you change the pattern, then everything before you change it is no longer relevant, including the walker cup

#4, its an event based on tradition, history and as such should stay the way it is, it is successful because it is traditional and consistant year to year.

For years the rat race had me going around in circles, Now I do it for fun!
EXILED IN PULLMAN WA
AMA 842137
Skip Chernoff
Captain

« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2017, 07:07:15 PM »

Mark I get all of your points and understand the tradition involved.  With that said ,not everyone who flies stunt is interested in going to the Nats or  even cares about the Walker Cup. Sometimes you need to change things up just to keep those juices flowing.