News:

• March 28, 2024, 12:34:27 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: KBS Diamond Clear - rattle can  (Read 13059 times)

Offline Tom Luciano

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Re: KBS Diamond Clear - rattle can
« Reply #50 on: December 02, 2016, 04:49:08 AM »
   I have been using the spray 2k can for about 5 years now. It is a very good product. I have experimented with it, a bit. At someone's suggestion here, I put it in the freezer immediately after shooting a combat plane repair. I would say I had a solid half a can.  A month later I was able to spray it with no ill affects. I then put it back in the freezer and a total of 6 months later I pulled it out and still was able to rattle the ball in the can. Okay, I'll go for it!! I applied it on another combat plane. Unfortunately, it thickened and didn't flow out properly. There was no problem with adhesion or anything but, the orange peel was severe. Sanding the plane back down was like sanding my sidewalk! mw~

My point is there seems to be a window where it can be used past the pot life. Just some food for thought and I wouldn't recommend planning on doing this on your world class stunter but,  this might be useful to some.

This is for information purposes and your mileage may vary!

Tom
AMA 13001

Offline Avaiojet

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
  • Just here for the fun of it also.
« Reply #51 on: December 02, 2016, 05:12:00 AM »
Tom,

I think that information came from Dennis.

IMHO, Guys that do world class stunters don't use aerosol cans.

My guess would more of base color coat and clear coat with products from the auto industry, especially the 2 part clears.

Then again, a few might use dope and wax their models to death.

Charles

Trump Derangement Syndrome. TDS. 
Avaiojet Derangement Syndrome. ADS.
Amazing how ignorance can get in the way of the learning process.