News:

• April 19, 2024, 03:38:20 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: slowing it down a bit  (Read 4201 times)

Offline cory colquhoun

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
slowing it down a bit
« on: January 17, 2017, 02:57:22 AM »

any tips on slowing plane down a little,when I watch some of the guys fly on yt it seems their planes are flying smooth and effortlessly and they have plenty of time for each stunt.i use 60foot lines on my .35 size models and its a bit quick for me as im still learning,they all pull fairly well ,should I use longer lines

Offline gene poremba

• 24 supporter
  • Commander
Re: slowing it down a bit
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2017, 04:30:40 AM »

You can try experimenting with different props. Going down on the pitch should help. Like you mentioned allready longer lines....Gene

Offline Don Jenkins

• 24 supporter
  • Commander
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2017, 05:00:47 AM »
What are your lap times?  Based on my memory of the reports coming from the NATS, the best of the best are flying around 5.2 to 5.4 second laps.  Based on my limited experience, each of my planes has its own characteristics based on size, weight, trim, etc.  Accordingly, my earlier planes that were crooked and heavy flew best at a higher speeds, but they didn't turn well, thats probably why I either crashed them or they stay on the wall.  My newer planes that are straighter and lighter fly well at slower speeds and turn better.  Longer lines will slow lap times and allow larger maneuvers, but line tension may be sacrificed.  Its all trial and error with each plane.  I have several sets of lines from 58' to 65'.  Each new plane I usually start with 60' lines and adjust from that based on feel.  Prop pitch will also control speed.  If you are using a 10-6 prop, try a 10-5, it will slow things down, but again, line tension may be sacrificed.  Good luck.

Don

Offline Brent Williams

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral