News:

• April 18, 2024, 03:23:36 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Profile fuse flexing  (Read 3203 times)

Offline Paul Taylor

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
  • If God is your Co-pilot - swap seats!
    • Our Local CL Web Page
Profile fuse flexing
« on: March 21, 2017, 09:16:20 PM »
I have been searching as I know this has been talked about before. I have not found a thread.

Will adding two layers of silk on a profile fuse prevent flexing or just add extra weight?

Thanks
Paul
Paul
AMA 842917

Tight Lines = Fun Times

Online John Rist

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Profile fuse flexing
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2017, 09:25:45 PM »
I am no expert but I had some luck with carbon vale for stiffing.
John Rist
AMA 56277

Online Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2017, 10:47:27 PM »
  The issue isn't necessarily "flexing" but twisting. You want to keep the stab level. Applying any kind of laminated material around the whole fuselage will add a"shell" to the balsa that will resist twisting. Sil, silkspan, carbon veil will all work to different levels.
   Type at you later,
     Dan McEntee
AMA 28784
EAA  1038824
AMA 480405 (American Motorcyclist Association)

Offline Serge_Krauss

• Admiral
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2017, 10:47:27 PM »
My short answer is that one layer, with threads diagonal should help. I believe that .56-oz glass filled with epoxy is better, since it is light and much less flexible