News:

• April 25, 2024, 02:31:27 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: ECL 2-2-2 motor run  (Read 9868 times)

Offline Dennis Toth

• 2020 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
ECL 2-2-2 motor run
« on: August 14, 2015, 12:29:56 PM »
Guys,
I've been flying ECL for several years and been using the tried and true 5" & 6" pitch props with satisfactory results. Seeing some of the IC's running the 2-2-2, which seems to pull through the wind a little stronger, made me wonder how many guys fly this in ECL? Things change slowly in stunt and we tend to use what works cause most of us don't have the time we had back in high school to build ten ships a year and try different things. I did a few test block runs and it seems that higher rpm pulls more amps. This makes it hard to keep the weight down cause of the limited sizes of our battery packs. If you have gotten a high rpm - low pitch combination to work with enough juice to do the pattern please post your components.

Best,    DennisT

Online Howard Rush

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: ECL 2-2-2 motor run
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2015, 02:44:32 PM »
Electric stuff is amenable to calculation, so you can save some experimenting.  Most of the online prop calculators are bogus, however.  JavaProp is a good resource. 
The Jive Combat Team
Making combat and stunt great again

Offline Dean Pappas

• Admiral
  • Welcome to the Stunt Hanger.
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2015, 10:16:57 AM »
Hi Dennis,
I am not sure I understand your question. Are you asking if it is practical to run with lower pitches and higher RPM?
Sure it is, and within limits prop efficiency will suffer if you do.
On top of that, prop efficiency suffers even more dramatically once you start to hear tip-howl as the prop tip velocities exceed maybe Mach 0.6 or 0.7.
take care,
  Dean P.
Dean Pappas

Offline Motorman

• Admiral
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2015, 08:16:03 AM »