News:

• April 23, 2024, 04:44:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: New C/L flyer to maiden new build!  (Read 36529 times)

Offline Target

• C/L Addict
  • 2019 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
New C/L flyer to maiden new build!
« on: April 12, 2015, 08:52:52 PM »
I have had the air frame glued up for a couple years maybe, but I finally finished my Sig Banshee.
I mainly have decided to fly a little U/C since I miss one of my OFB's, Don Repp, something fierce, and he's left RC sailplanes behind and went back to control line for a while (says he's not giving up on the sailplanes, just taking a little break!).

So, why not build a U/C and hang with one of my buddies? Thats what I did. I'm a relative Newbie, but had a couple 1/2A's about 20 years ago when my step kids were young... So I guess I'm not a U/C virgin, but no full size stunter experience, so am I a "retread"??

Anyway, here is a couple pics of the plane. It came out OK, and I learned a lot (mostly I learned I have much to learn!), and yes, there are a few mistakes here and there. But the wing is true to the stab, and I have high hopes that it will be a good flyer.

Things that are not stock-
Adjustable lead outs (made my own fence)
Bell crank reversed (front line is up line)
Added a weight box in the tip (put the opening on top, Ooops!)
Adjustable bolt on tank
Shortened the nose 1.5"
Added diagonal braces between the spars and ribs
Full length wire hinge pins
Carbon plates at the horn locations

I hope to maiden this Friday with a couple of buddies, Don Repp being one. He's the one that set me up with the OS 40FP with a different venturi.
Wish me luck!

Next up, an Oriental ARF that will be "shocked" with E-power, and then I have a RSM Thunderbird 2 kit coming that will also be built for E power (much to my buddies disapproval!).