News:

• June 16, 2024, 07:07:52 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: REVERSE PITCH PROPS AND PLANE TRIM  (Read 1349 times)

Offline jose modesto

• 22 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
REVERSE PITCH PROPS AND PLANE TRIM
« on: June 16, 2010, 03:15:10 PM »
I have been building gas stunt planes for 44 years and have developed systems that help with the trim and set ups of these models
1) reverse bellcrancks rear leadout down
2) rabe rudders
3) equal wings
4) engine offset
5)rudder of set
i converted one of the gas models to electric, all was well with counter clock(TRACTOR) turning props when i switched to counter  rotating props(13x4.5) the plane was not happy. These reverse pitch props require a little thinking outside the normal BOX.
Now i had to much line tension on outside maneuvers and minimum on insides the normal trimming options were not available
1) leadouts back only gave to much yaw(trying to move up leadout back it also moved the down line further back more yaw on outside)
2) less rudder of set helped outside but not inside
3) removal of Rabe rudder helped with excessive yaw
4) additional tip weight to get inside line tension hurt the outside turns
So now i have to rethink my approach to Estunt and counter rotating props.
1)non reverse bellcranck
2) reverse the Rabe rudder to give more line tention for inside turns
3) a little inside Engine offset
Have you guys run into this and how are you trimming your EMODELS.
JOSE MODESTO

Offline Howard Rush

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: REVERSE PITCH PROPS AND PLANE TRIM
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2010, 10:03:57 PM »
You have to fly left-handed.  I think that's the only solution.  Hope this helps.
The Jive Combat Team
Making combat and stunt great again

Offline Dennis Adamisin

• 2019 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2010, 04:56:20 AM »
Hi Jose