News:

• March 28, 2024, 03:06:42 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: I am new to four strokes.  (Read 9040 times)

Offline Clancy Arnold

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
  • I am 5 Ft. 8 In., the Taube is 7 Ft. 4 In.
I am new to four strokes.
« on: July 22, 2010, 07:00:29 PM »
Guidance please!
I bought a kit and engine for a new CL Sport Scale model.  The Model was designed for RC but I will build it for CL.  I plan on using 70 ft .027 lines and my U/Tronics control system.

The model is Nick Ziroli's WWI Taube.  88 inch WS and 1500 sq. inch wing area.

I bought an OS 91 Surpass pumped engine to power it.  First question what kind of test stand should I use to run in the engine?
Clancy
Clancy Arnold
Indianapolis, IN   AMA 12560 LM-S
U/Tronics Control
U/Control with electronics added.

Offline john e. holliday

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: I am new to four strokes.
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2010, 08:37:12 AM »
Clancy, remember to forget every thing you know about 2 strokes.  If instructions came with the engine read them thoroughly.  I have  a .70 four stroke that is slated to go in a fun scale plane.  I bought one of the ready made mounts and boltd it to a peice of 2X4.  It is clamped to a saw horse.  It is amazing how much power these 4S's have with the low rpm.  Guess it must be the higher pitch in the props or could be the diameter which is larger.  Hae a good strong starter or do like I do.  Turn it backwards until you feel compression.  Pull forward a bit and then smack it hard backwards.  Sometimes when I feel a kick I go ahead and flip the prop.  Do use a heavy glove until you are used to it.   H^^
John E. "DOC" Holliday
10421 West 56th Terrace
Shawnee, KANSAS  66203
AMA 23530  Have fun as I have and I am still breaking a record.

Offline Clancy Arnold

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2010, 07:35:50 PM »
Thanks Doc
I read the instructions: